Here We Go Again

Well, it’s about that time again. The fall semester begins on Sep. 3, and marks the beginning of my final year at seminary. Its been an wonderful journey so far, though I must admit I’ve experienced everything from boredom to awe to overwhelming stress to conviction – the list could go on. Ultimately, I have learned enough to realize that I will never stop learning. And that thought comforts me. It means that I don’t have to know it all, because that would simply be an impossibility.

That being said, there are indeed some things that I can, and must, know for this semester. If you take a gander at the right column of my blog, you will see an updated list from LibraryThing that shows the books I’ll be reading for class this semester. My sincere hope its that I will be able to digest these and still have time for some extra curricular reading that I am anxious to continue (or start) reading as well.

I’ve made some hard decisions in choosing my classes for this semester. I am taking fewer hours than usual in order to focus on writing samples and applications for postgraduate programs, and to take a breather from this past year. I have also chosen to take a semester away from classes directly dealing with Biblical languages. This doesn’t mean that I won’t be using them or trying hard to keep up on what I have worked so hard to learn. But I decided that I simply need a break. I’ve so far taken 2 Greek, 3 Hebrew, Aramaic, and German classes sicne I have been here, coupled with exegesis and inductive bible study courses that test my knowledge in these languages. It makes me tired just thinking about it. Rest assured, though, that I intend to finish up my last semester with a bit more Hebrew and some French (or maybe Latin).

This summer has been a bit intense for me. I’ll be the first to admit that I bit off more than I could comfortably chew. I’m tired, and feel like I’ve been hit by a freight train that somewhat resembles the Library of Congress. Yet I am incredibly grateful for the support I’ve received at home, and progress that I feel I’ve made in some significant areas of my life.

I’m actually looking forward to starting back to classes. I’m looking forward to making plans with Sarah for our future. And I’m looking forward to continuing the transformation that God is working in me.

Leave a Reply

