Fall 2006 Reading List

I should be studying for my Intermediate Hebrew midterm right now, or maybe reading the 1100+ pages I have due for my intensive next weekend, or maybe one of a hundred other things. But instead, I though maybe some of you might be interested in what I am reading right now for classes. This list and a library card (or a few hundred bucks) will get you a free Seminary education, though you sure would miss out on the lectures. And boy are they something. Have I mentioned that I love this place? Anywho…

What I am reading this semester:

(Church History)
The Story of Christianity, Vol. 1, Gonzales
Readings in Christian Thought, Kerr
Historical Theology, McGrath
Documents of the Christian Church, Bettenson

(Bioethics)
Environmental Ethics, Pojman
Three Views on Creation and Evolution, Nelson, Newman, and Van Till
The Secret Chain: Evolution and Ethics, Bradie
Environmental Stewardship in the Judeo-Christian Tradition, Barkey

(Basic Christian Doctrine)
The Living God, Oden
The Word of Life, Oden
Life in the Spirit, Oden
Across the Spectrum, Boyd and Eddy
Ministry in the Image of God, Seamands

(Speech)
An Essential Guide to Public Speaking, Schultze
Communicating for life, Schultze
Minister’s Prayer Book

(Intermediate Hebrew)
Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia
A Grammar for Biblical Hebrew, Seow
A Guide to Biblical Hebrew Syntax, Arnold and Choi
Building Your Hebrew Vocabulary, Landes
The Text of the Old Testament, Wurthwein

And here is some light reading for my free time that I am working on:

Paul and Palestinian Judaism, Sanders
Jesus and Judaism, Sanders
Orthodoxy, Chesterton
A Rabbinic Commentary on the New Testament, Lachs
Dragons of Winter Night, Weis and Hickman (how’d that get in there? 🙂

I think I need something else to fill my spare time….any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

