Quit Keeping Score

Wow! I just read an interresting post from an ATS Alumnus that I sometimes read. He quoted an author named Brennon Manning, who in turn quoted Thomas Merton (a fairly famous Trapist monk from Kentucky). The quote was just something I have to post here for comments and reflections.



Thomas Merton told a fellow monk, “If I make anything out of the fact that I am Thomas Merton, I am dead. And if you make anything out of the fact that you are in charge of the pig barn, you are dead.” Merton’s solution? “Quit keeping score altogether and surrender yourself with all your sinfulness to God who sees neither the score nore the scorekeeper but only his child redeemed by Christ.”

Let that one roll around in your nogin for a little while and get back to me on what it means to you. I will post my reflections soon.

Leave a Reply

