Who are you proud of?

I think I am at a place in my life where I am finally starting to set aside all of my education, experiences, and dare I say knowledge, and am finally seeing the simple truths and answers that God has provided for us. I am constantly amazed by these simple revelations and answers to seemingly difficult questions. If I may, I would like to share another one with you.

My wife teaches 3 and 4 year olds at a preschool. Children are such a wonderful blessing from God and, quite frankly, they tend to crack me up a lot. What truly amazes me about children, though, is that they seem to arrive at conclusions that adults can’t ever seem to comprehend without help.

My brother and sister-in-law both serve in the US Air Force as fighter pilots, and my sister-in-law recently received an award for the work she has done. We are very proud of her, and my wife decided to use that as a lesson to teach the kids about what it means to be proud of someone. After she talked to them about what it means to be proud of someone, she asked each of the to name someone that they are proud of.

Children are so innocent that you can imagine some of the responses (involving pets, etc), but one little girl had a different answer than the rest. She said she is proud of Jesus. Although the school they work at is a Christian preschool, my wife and her coworkers were still surprised by this answer. What really got them was what the little girl said afterward, as she began to describe in great detail who Jesus was, and that he died on the cross for us.

Even as I write this, I can feel the emotion welling up into my throat. How often do we have a chance to proclaim the love of Jesus Christ, and choose to remain silent? How many of us would have said that we were proud of family or friends or great leaders (which is all well and good)? It amazes me that this tiny child seems to hold dear what we have managed to forget along the way…that our answers should be Jesus.

I thank you Lord for these children; for making them a living reminder of how our faith should be. Please teach us to love you with a child-like heart. Amen.

Leave a Reply

